Let the Recording Commence

I had this week off work, and so duly spent it at work. The school has a very nice little recording studio and as it was free all week it seemed silly to ignore it. It is fairly ridiculous that having worked there for nearly 3 years this is the first time I’ve spent any real time using the studio, but that is just indicative of the slump I had fallen into with my music.

Anyway, I spent 3 days there this week which means that after quarter of  a year of writing I have finally started recording the actual album. Harry is still practicing the drum parts for the 11 songs I’ve sent him, so I made a start on two of the songs which don’t need drums, ‘Tread the Line’ and ‘Motion’. I’m pretty pleased with the progress of both, I managed to get all the main guitar parts recorded plus a few extras (a bit of piano, glokenspiel, some voicey stuff etc).

I am really pleased with the way it’s going, it’s quite an odd feeling being optimistic about it. I’ve gotten so used to just feeling frustrated and annoyed when trying to record that it’s really nice to be enjoying it again. This is mostly down to the new approach of writing everything before even trying to record. The songs I’m starting to record now were written 3 months ago, in that time quite a few have been dropped or changed as their faults become apparent over time. Using my old method of immediately recording a song when I’ve written it I would have spent a lot more time on the ‘duds’ before realising it wasn’t working.

Anyway, here is a clip from the current working version of ‘Tread the Line’. It’s pretty much “as recorded” at the moment, I’ve done very little in the way of production on it but you should get the idea. The vocal is just a rough take and the Cello is from a keyboard but I hope to get a real one recorded at some point. It’s one of the more mellow tracks I’ve written for the album and is pretty minimal in terms of arrangement. Oh, and the silly high backing vocal is written for a female vocalist but I’ve filled it in for now, to show off my choir boy/Matt Cardle falsetto.

So now I have sufficiently lowered your expectations, here it is, the first snippet of studio recording.

James

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 17:07:14

    I think those singing lessons are starting to pay off!…. not that you were bad before 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lesley
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 23:21:36

    Jimmy, that’s really good! Can’t wait for the whole album!!!!!

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 19:49:30

    Spending longer working on your songs is definately paying off. I’m enjoying hearing the snippets as they come and getting to hear how your songs evolve. xLx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

