Being a “div”

One thing I never considered when setting up this blog was that if I am going to write down all my album related thoughts,  everybody is going to realise I am a nutcase, especially when it comes to music. In general I manage to keep it under wraps and people don’t realise, but if I continue writing something every other week about what’s happening with the album you are going to get occasional posts such as my previous one. It’s a miracle that was the first “oh no everything is awful and it’s all doomed” type post in 3 months of writing this. Suffice to say I have calmed down, that song is fine, it just needs some work.

As for the album progress, over the last couple of weeks I have enlisted the help of Scott, a friend from Brighton with whom I studied music production. I once described him on my myspace page (when he mixed a track for me) as having ‘ears of gold’, this was both due to his ability to pick out a good mix and my inability to think of a better description. He also likes cooler and more interesting music than me (I like Girls Aloud) and it seems as though he’s going to have three jobs, helping me with production and putting the tracks together, chucking in ideas for arrangement etc, and telling me not to be such a “div” (his words) when I’m having an irrational wobble about the songs. I may suggest to him that he just gets the “Don’t be a div, it sounds fine” email set up as some sort of template to save him time.

As for the recording itself, Harry the drummer is now pencilled in for the 30th April to record and that is when the real work begins. One of the drawbacks of enlisting such a talented young drummer is that he is seriously in demand and very busy. You can’t complain though when the guy doing you a favour by learning all your songs tells you he can’t make a particular date because he will be performing in the Radio 1 Live Lounge! Until we get the drums down I’m at a bit of a loss for things to do. I can’t make much progress until they’re done, So I’m mostly just practising and working on a couple of acoustic tracks.

Having no new material for you I thought I would further embrace the wonders of the internet and record a video of myself playing an acoustic version of an album track. Apparently this is the done thing when trying to promote oneself these days, although I suspect that is mostly for artists more photogenic than me. Nevertheless I’ve gone for it. You may note the acoustic screen as mentioned back in December, and before anybody mentions it yes I was wearing a hat, and yes it was because the light was reflecting off my head.

This one has a working title of ‘A Self Appointed Leader’.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ross
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 16:23:02

    James, Keep up the good work 🙂 Nice hat 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sarah Whiting
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 12:13:37

    Really loved that song! I don’t think you realise how good you are!
    Sarah.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

